RSS

January 3, 2012

05 Jan

Although I didn’t think it was going to be, but it did turn out to be a busy day….sort of. Work up in the morning and went to Walmart to pick up some breakfast items. Eggs, bacon, bagels, stuff like that. After that I came home and cooked breakfast for everyone. I had some errands to run in the afternoon, so I went out with my oldest, A J. I had to go return a book I had rented, so my first stop was to Kinko’s/Fed Ex Office. However, before that I made a detour and headed to Starbucks, where I got a Venti Vanilla Bean Frappuccino. I always forget that I am suppose to start keeping track of what I eat and eat smart. Oh well, it was free because Starbucks had sent me card for a free drink of my choice as part of the rewards program they have. A J got a tall Vanilla Bean Frappuccino, which he loved as well.

Vanilla Bean Frappuccinos

 

 

 

 

 

 

After our drinks, we headed to pick up the printed label for the UPS package I needed to return to the book rental place. I had to have FedEx printed because I don’t have a working printer at home, which I really really hate. Anywho, after FedEx Kinko’s I headed to the UPS Store, but we stopped at West Coast Customs. I’ve been wanting to pass by and take a picture for a while, so I finally got to do that. It’s cool to see some of the cars that they’ve worked on just sitting there in the parking lot. A J was excited to see the place and kept asking where the cameras were.

 

After West Coast Customs we finally went to the UPS Store, which was sort of ghetto. I expected a better place, but it was like any old mom & pop mailbox place. Anywho, I bought the envelope for the book, stuck it in and slapped the label on the front. I walked next door to the cookie store to get something for Jas, but, alas, they were closed until the following day. Oh well.

The next stop was to El Tapatio supermarket, which I’d never been to before, but I’d read reviews on it on yelp!. I wanted to check out their bakery and their prepared food section. OMG, it did not disappoint. Their shrimp cocktail was soooo yummy. I bought a pound of that, a pound of carnitas, and a dozen tortillas. I bought it all to eat at home. Oh, I also bought three tamales. The boys, Jas, and I shared it all. The tamales were a little hard, but still sort of good. But that shrimp cocktail….oh, I can’t stop thinking about it. I want to go back and get some more. Jas got the carnitas, which were okay, and a slice of tres leches cake. I am usually, not a big fan of the tres leches cake, but it was okay. Nothing spectacular. Did I mention that the shrimp cocktail was delicious?  I’m going to have to learn to make it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

That was about it for my day. I didn’t get to read as much as usual, but I did read about half of my current book, which is the third book in the Destiny Series by Toni Blake. The third book is titled “Whisper Falls.” 

Tessa Sheridan came crawling back home to Destiny after her big city interior design career crumbled. Now not only must she struggle to make ends meet, she has to contend with a biker next door and the roar of Harleys shattering the serenity of her cabin in the woods. Worse still, her sexy bad boy neighbor makes her feel breathless and weak—and shy, petite Tessa knows what a major mistake it would be to get involved with someone so…dangerous.

They say that former teen rebel Lucky Romo has a dark, secret past—that he’s trouble with a capital “T.” Still, Tessa feels all tingly when she sees how well he fills out a pair of tight jeans. And when Lucky invites her into his world, she knows the intense heat sparking between them could lead her somewhere wild and wonderful…and, yes, dangerous!

I’ve read about half of it, which is really good. I think I still enjoyed the second book a little more just because of Edna. But this still a very good and entertaining book. Lucky seems like a sensitive fellow and knows what he wants. He’s taken in by Tessa easily and she by him. It seems that Tessa wants herself some Lucky and is set on getting Lucky.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 5, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
